Book Summary:

Jackie Puller vanished thirty years ago from Fort Monroe, Virginia. Her sons John and Robert Puller were just boys when their mother walked away from their home and was never seen again.

Around the same time Jackie Puller disappeared, a man named Paul Rogers was also at Fort Monroe. He has spent the last ten years in prison.

Then military investigators walk into the hospital room of the Puller brothers’ father, a legendary three-star fading away into dementia. In their hands the investigators carry a letter from one of Jackie’s friends. In this letter she proclaims that the senior Puller killed his wife all those years ago.

John and Robert Puller, both in the military, along with Veronica Knox who is with the U.S. intelligence organization, begin to pull at the strings of what few clues they have looking for answers. To find out if Puller Sr. killed their mother.

Paul Rogers, newly released from prison, begins a journey he has been planning for years behind bars, a journey that will take him across the country where it all began. To a building in Fort Monroe where his brain was tinkered with and that turned him into another man entirely.

Paul Rogers time is running out. A clock is ticking in his brain. He is determined to get revenge on those who used him like a laboratory rat and changed his life.

Paul Rogers and John Puller will find themselves face to face. Both of them looking for answers. Rogers is seeking revenge. And John Fuller is looking for answers about what happened to his mother all those years ago.

My Review:

I love all of David Baldacci’s books. This was no exception. He knows how to spin a tail. He creates a mysterious plot and fills it with puzzle pieces.

One by one he puts the puzzle pieces together, weaving together wonderful characters and explaining the seemingly unexplainable.

His books draw you in and keep your attention from beginning to end. For me they never disappoint.

About The Author:

Author David Baldacci

David Baldacci has been writing since childhood, when his mother gave him a lined notebook in which to write down his stories. (Much later, when David thanked her for being the spark that ignited his writing career, she revealed that she’d given him the notebook to keep him quiet, because “every mom needs a break now and then.”)

David published his first novel, Absolute Power, in 1996. The feature film adaptation followed, with Clint Eastwood as its director and star. In total, David has published 36 novels for adults; all have been national and international bestsellers, and several have been adapted for film and television.

His novels are published in over 45 languages and in more than 80 countries, with over 130 million worldwide sales. David has also published six novels for younger readers.

A lifelong Virginian, David received his Bachelor’s degree from Virginia Commonwealth University and his law degree from the University of Virginia School of Law, after which he practiced law in Washington, D.C.

David and his family live in Virginia.

Similar Posts


  1. Hi, I desire to subscribe for this web site to obtain latest updates, therefore where can i do it please assist. dfeddgebgkegdfce

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *